On Now
Coming Up
  • Mon., Oct. 23, 2017 5:00 AM - 7:00 AM EDT Live The Morning Blitz The Morning Blitz with Al Galdi is live from 5-7am on ESPN980!
  • Mon., Oct. 23, 2017 7:00 AM - 10:00 AM EDT Live Cooley & Kevin Join Cooley & Kevin on each weekday morning from 7-11am on ESPN980!
  • Mon., Oct. 23, 2017 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM EDT Live The Bram Weinstein Show Bram Weinstein is live 11am-1pm presented by Window Nation on ESPN980!
  • Mon., Oct. 23, 2017 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM EDT Live Inside The Locker Room Join Doc Walker, B-Mitch and Scott Jackson are live weekday afternoons at 1pm-4pm on ESPN980!
  • Mon., Oct. 23, 2017 4:00 PM - 4:30 PM EDT Live The Steve Czaban Show Steve Czaban and Scott Linn live on ESPN980!

  • Mon., Oct. 23, 2017 4:30 PM - 5:30 PM EDT Live Game Plan with Larry Michael Larry Michael discusses the upcoming Redskins at Eagles game live on ESPN980!

  • Mon., Oct. 23, 2017 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM EDT Live Koch Industries Redskins PreGame Show with Kevin Sheehan

    Tune in to ESPN980 for the Official Redskins Radio Pregame Show w/ Kevin Sheehan Presented by Koch Industries before the Redskins take on the Eagles!

  • Mon., Oct. 23, 2017 8:30 PM - 11:30 PM EDT Live Live Broadcast: Redskins at Eagles Washington Redskins at Philadelphia Eagles

  • Mon., Oct. 23, 2017 11:30 PM - 11:59 PM EDT DLT Solutions Post-Game Show w/Scott Jackson and Clinton Portis

    DLT Solutions PostGame Show with Scott Jackson and Clinton Portis live on ESPN980!

  • Tue., Oct. 24, 2017 5:00 AM - 7:00 AM EDT Live The Morning Blitz The Morning Blitz with Al Galdi is live from 5-7am on ESPN980!

Darrel Young Named Redskins' Byron 'Whizzer' White Award Winner

Posted Dec 3, 2015

Darrel Young, for his efforts in the community, was the Redskins nomination for the 2015 Byron 'Whizzer' White Award.

-- Kerrigan Names Redskins' Walter Payton Man Of The Year
-- The Profound Perfectionism Of K. Cousins

The NFLPA announced today that Redskins fullback Darrel Young is the team’s nomination for the Byron “Whizzer” White Award.

The award, the highest honor presented by the Players Association, recognizes players who go above and beyond to perform community service in their team cities and hometowns.

Its title acknowledges Supreme Court Justice Byron Raymond “Whizzer” White, a scholar, athlete, patriot, humanitarian and public servant. In his spirit, the NFLPA presents the award to the player that’s just as dedicated off the field as he is on the field.

Five finalists will be pooled down from each team's candidate in January, with the winner, announced at the Super Bowl press conference, receiving $100,000 dollars for his foundation or charity of his choice. Ken Houston, in 1981, was the last Redskin to win the award.

Players had the opportunity to nominate the candidate from their team when the NFLPA visited locker rooms this fall.

Thus far in 2015, Young leads all teammates by attending 29 community events, which take place all around the DMV area. He was voted last year as the Redskins' "Community Man of the Year" after he attended 34 events in 2014.