On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.



Griffin III Wins Third-Straight Rookie Honors

Posted Dec 7, 2012

Another Redskins victory yields another NFL Rookie of the Week award for quarterback Robert Griffin III, who has won six of the team's seven rookie honors this season.

Redskins Nation has spoken, and quarterback Robert Griffin III has been named the NFL Rookie of the Week for Week 13.  This is his sixth award this season, and his third victory in a row.

Griffin III completed 13-of-21 passes for 163 yards and a touchdown, and added another 73 yards rushing to lead the Redskins to a 17-16 win over the New York Giants. The victory came in Griffin III’s Monday Night Football debut and marked his second prime-time, nationally-televised victory in a row.

Griffin III rushed for 72 yards on five carries. Griffin III now has 714 rushing yards this season, setting an NFL record for rushing yards by a rookie quarterback, a record formerly held by Carolina’s Cam Newton (706 in 2011).

Combined with the success of fellow rookie Alfred Morris, the Redskins became the first team in NFL history to have a rookie with 2,000 passing yards (Robert Griffin III) and a rookie with 1,000 rushing yards (Morris).

Griffin III helped the Redskins overcome a six-point deficit entering the fourth quarter. According to the Elias Sports Bureau, Griffin III became the first rookie quarterback for the Redskins to engineer a fourth-quarter comeback when trailing after three quarters since Harry Theofiledes on Dec. 15, 1968 vs. Detroit.

In four games against NFC East opponents, Griffin III has completed 66-of-91 passes (72.5 percent) for 925 yards with 11 touchdowns and two interceptions for a passer rating of 135.3. His passer rating against divisional opponents is the highest among all NFL players with at least five attempts per game this season.

Griffin III was selected from among five finalists through fan votes on NFL.com/rookies.  The other finalists were Philadelphia Eagles running back Bryce Brown, Cleveland Browns wide receiver Josh Gordon, Indianapolis Colts quarterback Andrew Luck and Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson.

After the regular season, five players will be nominated for NFL Rookie of the Year honors.  Fans can vote for the winner on NFL.com/rookies throughout the month of January. 

The NFL Rookie of the Year will be announced at the second annual “NFL Honors” awards show in New Orleans on Saturday, February 2, the night before Super Bowl XLVII.




widget powered by zoomph