Coming Up
  • Fri., Jul. 01, 2016 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM EDT Inside the Locker Room

    Join Doc Walker, B-Mitch and Scott Jackson weekday afternoons at their new, expanded time – 1pm-4pm on ESPN 980!

  • Fri., Jul. 01, 2016 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM EDT The Sports Reporters

    Coming up today on the Sports Reporters:  Czaban and Andy are in.   Chris Knoche joins the guys in studio from 5-7pm.  Andy is back from his one week stay at home vacation.    Billy Hurley III wins the Quicken Loans National.   Wizards out of the Kevin Durant chase.   Bad weekends for quarterbacks Tarvaris Jackson and Johnny Manziel.

  • Fri., Jul. 01, 2016 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM EDT DMV Gametime

    Tim Murray (@1TimMurray) and Nick Ashooh (@NickAshooh) will stay connected to local listeners as the night’s action gets underway on “DMV Game Time”, Monday thru Friday 7pm-10pm on ESPN 980!

  • Sat., Jul. 02, 2016 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM EDT Redskins Saturday

    Doc Walker fills in this week for Andy Pollin on Redskins Saturday!  Catch the latest news from Redskins Park every Saturday from 10am-12noon exclusively on ESPN 980 and the ESPN 980 App!  Download it now, FREE for iPhone and Android!



Fletcher Wins Bart Starr Award

Posted Jan 11, 2012

The postseason honors keep coming for Pro Bowler London Fletcher. The Bart Starr Award recognizes outstanding character and leadership in the home, on the field and in the community.

London Fletcher has been named the winner of the Bart Starr Award, which recognizes one NFL player for outstanding character and leadership in the home, on the field and in the community.

Fletcher will be honored during the 25th annual NFL-sanctioned Super Bowl Breakfast on Saturday, Feb. 4, in Indianapolis, site of Super Bowl XLVI.

Other finalists for the award were Dallas Cowboys tight end Jason Witten and Philadelphia Eagles cornerback Nnamdi Asomugha.

In his 14th year in the NFL, Fletcher has been active in charitable projects across the country. He founded the London’s Bridge Foundation in 2003, through which he has impacted underprivileged children in his hometown of Cleveland, Ohio, as well as Washington, D.C., Buffalo, N.Y., and Charlotte, N.C.

The foundation runs mentoring programs and charitable giving to support health and fitness, education and leadership programs.

Fletcher He has been involved in the Redskins’ Harvest Feast, the “Stuff a Backpack” School Supply Drive, The Children’s Inn and visits to Walter Reed Army Medical Center, among many other projects.

The winner of the Bart Starr Award is voted by NFL players and is named after NFL Hall of Famer Bart Starr, the former Green Bay Packers quarterback.

Past winners include Darrell Green, Drew Brees, Kurt Warner, LaDainian Tomlinson, Darren Woodson, Reggie White and Mike Singletary.



widget powered by zoomph